Tomorrow’s Parliamentary Debate on 5G Masts

My office has been supporting a number of residents from across the constituency impacted by the roll out of 5g/wireless masts.

We have been engaging with the main equipment installer, IX Wireless, and held a residents workshop to go through each of the sites where concerns were raised.

Some progress has been made, and following our representations some have been removed or relocated. But there remains a big problem with the legal powers given to equipment installers and the weak protections for local communities.

I have secured a debate in parliament, tomorrow Wednesday at 4pm in Westminster Hall. Though I have raised the issue in the Commons before, this format allows a more detailed exchange to take place.

Thank you to residents who have contacted my office already but I’m keen to hear from anyone who has yet to get in touch to ensure we don’t miss any key points or issues.

After moving the debate the Government Minister will respond and I’ll ensure a full update is provided.

Thank you.

Published by JimfromOldham

Labour and Co-operative MP for Oldham West & Royton

Leave a comment